How are the electoral divisions determined in Singapore?

Elections in Singapore are conducted based on electoral divisions. The boundaries of electoral divisions (i.e. electoral boundaries) are revised regularly to reflect population growth and shifts. The boundaries are recommended by the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee, which is made up of senior civil servants with the relevant domain knowledge.

Who is the creator of the Singapore electoral map?

Let’s thank Google Maps and Yudhishthra Nathan for helping all Singaporean voters make sense of the electoral boundaries changes. The creator of the map is a fellow Singaporean who just completed his full-time National Service.

Are there more seats up for contest in Singapore?

SINGAPORE — There will be more seats and constituencies up for contest at the next General Election (GE), based on the latest report from the Electoral Boundaries Review Committee (EBRC).

How long is the term of Parliament in Singapore?

The Singapore Parliament has a term of 5 years but may be dissolved at any time before the expiry of its 5-year term by the President on the advice of the Prime Minister. The general election must be held within 3 months of the dissolution of the Parliament.

How many members of Parliament are there in Singapore?

There will be 13 Single Member Constituencies (SMCs) and 16 Group Representation Constituencies (GRCs) — up from 12 and 15 respectively. An estimated 2,460,977 Singaporeans will vote for 89 MPs. Details on how the 2011 constituencies have changed BUKIT PANJANG UnchangedHONG KAH NORTH UnchangedHOUGANG UnchangedJOO CHIAT The SMC is no more.

Who is the leading opposition party in Singapore?

The leading Opposition party is The Worker’s Party, led by Low Thia Khiang, with 7 elected seats and 2 NCMP seats. The Singapore People’s Party led by Chiam See Tong has 1 NCMP seat. A total of eight Opposition parties challenged the ruling party in this election.