How does Illinois define a forcible felony?
A forcible felony is defined as “treason, first degree murder, second degree murder, predatory criminal sexual assault of a child, aggravated criminal sexual assault, criminal sexual assault, robbery, burglary, residential burglary, aggravated arson, arson, aggravated kidnaping, kidnaping, aggravated battery resulting …
What is the definition of a forcible felony?
Forcible felony means any felony which involves the use or threat of physical force or violence against any person.
Is unlawful restraint a forcible felony Illinois?
Unlawful restraint and forcible detention are two additional crimes similar to kidnapping. Unlawful restraint can be prosecuted when a person knowingly and without legal authority detains another person. Unlawful restraint carries a Class 2 felony status, while forcible detention carries a Class 4 felony status.
What is a Class A felony in Illinois?
A Class 1 Felony in Illinois is the 2nd most serious class of felonies in the State of Illinois. This class of felony involves very serious crimes, such as criminal sexual assault, possession of heroin/cocaine/opioids and theft that was valued from $10,000 to $100,000.
Is criminal damage to property a felony in Illinois?
Criminal defacement of property is a Class 4 felony when the aggregate value of the damage to property does not exceed $500 and the property damaged is a school building or place of worship or property which memorializes or honors an individual or group of police officers, fire fighters, members of the United States …
What is a Uuw charge?
Unlawful of a Weapon (UUW) is a very serious crime in Illinois. If you are arrested for having a gun in public, and you do not have a Conceal and Carry Permit, you will be charged with a UUW. If you did not have an FOID Card or if the gun was loaded, you will be charged with an Aggravated UUW.
What is a non forcible felony?
The offenses that constitute a crime of violence or a non-forcible sex offense include arson, assault offenses, burglary, criminal homicide (manslaughter by negligence), criminal homicide (murder and nonnegligent manslaughter), destruction/damage/vandalism of property, kidnapping/abduction, robbery, forcible sex …
What is threat of unlawful restraint?
Unlawful restraint is a felony offense with serious repercussions for those convicted of it. The offense occurs when someone, without legal authority, detains another. Essentially, any action that prevents an individual from having freedom of movement can form the basis for conviction.
How long is a Class 1 felony in Illinois?
A Class 1 Felony is punishable with a minimum term of imprisonment of 4 years up to a maximum of 15 years.
How much property damage is a felony in Illinois?
felony when the damage to property does not exceed $10,000. felony.
Can a felony be a forcible felony in Illinois?
A felony can qualify as a forcible felony, even if a crime does not have violent intent as an element, if the State proves that “under the particular facts of this case,” the defendant contemplated the use of force and was willing to use it. The Illinois criminal code makes reference to the commission of a forcible felony.
Can you get a FOID if you have a non forcible felony?
Not all felonies are considered a “forcible” felony. If you have a non-forcible felony, like retail theft, your FOID application may not be denied. Your application might be denied if you have a low level felony conviction. For example, a felony Class 4 conviction for possession of a controlled substance.
Can a felon get a FOID in Illinois?
Denials that were based on more serious felonies can be appealed in the Circuit Court. Neither the Director nor a judge can grant a FOID if it is prohibited by federal law. The right to keep and bear arms in Illinois is a civil right. Your application should not be denied once your civil rights have been restored.
How old do you have to be to be convicted of murder in Illinois?
Someone convicted of First Degree Murder of a Child (or an attempt), when the defendant is at least 17 years of age at the time of the offense and the victim is under age 18. Applies to a person who committed the offense before June 1, 1996 only if the person was incarcerated in the Illinois Department of Corrections on August 20, 2004; or