How much does the Texas Railroad Commissioner make?

Texas Railroad Commission
General information
Office Type: Partisan
Office website: Official Link
Compensation: $140,937

Who are the Texas Railroad Commissioners?

Normally the commissioner who faces reelection is the chairman for the preceding two years. The current commissioners are Jim Wright since January 4, 2021, Wayne Christian since January 9, 2017, and Christi Craddick since December 17, 2012.

How much does it cost to put your name on the presidential ballot?

Anyone may obtain a spot on the ballot by either paying a qualifying fee, or submitting petition signatures. For independent candidates for President (or non-recognized parties) the fee is $500 or 5000 signatures, with at least 500 from each Congressional district.

Does the Texas Railroad Commission still exist?

The Railroad Commission of Texas no longer has any jurisdiction or authority over railroads in Texas, a duty which was transferred to other agencies, with the last of the rail functions transferred to the Texas Department of Transportation in 2005.

What does the Railroad Commission of Texas regulate?

The Railroad Commission’s main task is to regulate oil and gas operations. It has been one of the most powerful offices in Texas for 100 years, since a mammoth oil boom put the state on the economic map.

Who was responsible for the creation of the Texas Railroad Commission?

The Commission originally consisted of three members appointed by the Governor for three-year terms. Governor Hogg appointed the first three Commissioners in 1891 including John H. Reagan, who resigned as U.S. Senator from Texas to serve as the first Chairman.

Who owns Texas Railroad?

What is the oldest state agency in Texas?

The Texas General Land Office
The Texas General Land Office is the oldest state agency in Texas, established by the Constitution of the Republic of Texas.

What is the role of the Texas Railroad Commissioner?

The Railroad Commission of Texas (Commission) is the state agency with primary regulatory jurisdiction over the oil and natural gas industry, pipeline transporters, natural gas and hazardous liquid pipeline industry, natural gas utilities, the LP-gas industry, and coal and uranium surface mining operations.

Who is the first female governor of Texas?

Miriam A. Ferguson

Miriam Ferguson
Governor James E. Ferguson
Preceded by Alice Murrell Colquitt
Succeeded by Willie Cooper Hobby
Personal details

Why is it called the Railroad Commission?

Early on, Texas encouraged railroads to come to the state. From the time of the Republic, building transportation was a policy recognized to attract settlers.

Who is head of the Glo of Texas?

George P. Bush
The GLO also manages and contributes to the state’s Permanent School Fund….Texas General Land Office.

Agency overview
Jurisdiction Texas public lands
Headquarters Stephen F. Austin State Office Building 1700 N. Congress Ave Austin, Texas 78701 30°16′46″N 97°44′22″W
Agency executive George P. Bush, Land Commissioner