What is CEFR level C2?

English level C2 is the sixth and final level of English in the Common European Framework of Reference (CEFR), a definition of different language levels written by the Council of Europe. Relatively few English learners reach this level because their professional or academic goals do not require it.

How many grids are there in CEFR?

The self-assessment grid illustrates the levels of proficiency described in the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) and is an essential component of the ELP. It presents 34 scales of listening, reading, spoken interaction, spoken production and writing activities.

What is CEFR B2+?

Level B2+ of CEFR (Common European Framework of Reference for Languages) Level B2+ representing a Strong Vantage performance – the focus on argument, effective social discourse and on language awareness which appears at B2 (Vantage) continues.

How many common reference levels do the CEFR describe?

six levels
The CEFR organises language proficiency in six levels, A1 to C2, which can be regrouped into three broad levels: Basic User, Independent User and Proficient User, and that can be further subdivided according to the needs of the local context. The levels are defined through ‘can-do’ descriptors.

How do I know my CEFR level?

The best way to find out your CEFR level is to take a well-designed standardized test. In English, the EF SET is the best choice because it is free and the first standardized test to be fully aligned to the CEFR. You will need to set aside 50 minutes to complete the test and find out your CEFR level.

What are the different CEFR levels?

The six levels within the CEFR are A1, A2, B1, B2, C1 and C2. With these levels, you can easily work out your ability in around 40 different languages. The levels are often used casually by language learners to explain their ability at speaking, reading, writing and understanding a language.

What do the CEFR levels mean?

Common European Framework of Reference for Languages
The Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR) is an international standard for describing language ability. It describes language ability on a six-point scale, from A1 for beginners, up to C2 for those who have mastered a language.

What is the best CEFR level?

Common reference levels

Level group Level
A Basic user A2 Waystage or elementary
B Independent user B1 Threshold or intermediate
B2 Vantage or upper intermediate
C Proficient user C1 Effective operational proficiency or advanced

What are the 6 levels of CEFR?

The six levels within the CEFR are A1, A2, B1, B2, C1, and C2. These six reference levels are widely accepted as the European standard for grading an individual’s proficiency in around forty different languages.

What CEFR level is fluent?

CEFR C1 Level
The CEFR C1 Level: Fluent conversation If you’re more interested in learning rather than love, C1 is also advanced enough to allow for participation in an academic course, and users at this level are capable of writing on a range of subjects with good accuracy and expression.