What is the start method for triage?

The most basic way to use the START classifications is to transport victims in a fixed priority manner: immediate victims, followed by delayed victims, followed by the walking wounded.

What are the 4 categories of triage in a mass casualty situation?

following four categories:

  • ∎ Walking wounded/minor (green)
  • ∎ Delayed (yellow)
  • ∎ Immediate (red)
  • ∎ Deceased/expectant (black)

What are the three criteria for assessing patients during start triage?

Red/Immediate Patients The START triage system classifies patients as red/immediate if the patient fits one of the following three criteria: 1) A respiratory rate that’s > 30 per minute; 2) Radial pulse is absent, or capillary refill is > 2 seconds; and 3) Patient is unable to follow simple commands.

What are the rules of triage?

The rule, termed the Trauma Triage Rule, defines a major trauma victim as any injured adult patient whose systolic blood pressure is less than 85 mm Hg; whose motor component of the Glasgow Coma Score is less than 5; or who has sustained penetrating trauma of the head, neck, or trunk.

When should triage be implemented?

In mass casualty situations, triage is used to decide who is most urgently in need of transportation to a hospital for care (generally, those who have a chance of survival but who would die without immediate treatment) and whose injuries are less severe and must wait for medical care.

What is the most commonly used triage system?

The most common triage system in the United States is the START (simple triage and rapid treatment) triage system. This algorithm is utilized for patients above the age of 8 years. Using this algorithm, triage status is intended to be calculated in less than 60 seconds.

For which exposure would Hydroxocobalamin be considered?

Hydroxocobalamin is used in an emergency to treat cyanide poisoning. This type of poisoning can occur if you are exposed to smoke from a house or industrial fire, if you swallow or breathe in cyanide, or if you get cyanide on your skin.

What are the stages of triage?

Step 1 – Triage. Triage is the process of determining the severity of a patient’s condition.

  • Step 2 – Registration.
  • Step 3 – Treatment.
  • Step 4 – Reevaluation.
  • Step 5 – Discharge.