What NHL team was just added?

The Seattle Kraken are free to make trades and sign players after making their final expansion payment to the National Hockey League. Seattle owners paid $650m (£470m) to become the NHL’s 32nd franchise. The Kraken begin play next season.

What were the names of the old NHL divisions?

A Look at the Old NHL Divisions and Conferences

  • The Eastern Conference was comprised of the Atlantic, Northeast and Southeast divisions.
  • The Western Conference was comprised of the Central, Western and Pacific divisions.

Why is the NHL called National?

The Stanley Cup, the oldest professional sports trophy in North America, is awarded annually to the league playoff champion at the end of each season. At its inception, the NHL had four teams, all in Canada, thus the adjective “National” in the league’s name.

What does Kraken mean in Seattle?

When the NHL expansion team begins play in 2021-22, its name will be the Seattle Kraken after the mythical, mysterious and mighty sea beast. The primary color is deep sea blue. The secondary colors are ice blue, shadow blue, boundless blue and red alert.

Who were the original 12 NHL teams?

For the 1967–68 season, six new teams were added to the NHL: the California Seals, the Los Angeles Kings, the Minnesota North Stars, the Philadelphia Flyers, the Pittsburgh Penguins, and the St….Twelve teams (1967–70)

East Division West Division
New York Rangers Pittsburgh Penguins
Toronto Maple Leafs St. Louis Blues

Who are the NHL teams that missed the playoffs in 2014?

The 2014–15 NHL season was the 98th season of operation (97th season of play) of the National Hockey League (NHL). The Los Angeles Kings became the first team to miss the playoffs after winning the Stanley Cup the previous season since the Carolina Hurricanes in 2006–07.

When did the 2014-15 NHL season start and end?

The regular season began on October 8, 2014, and ended on April 11, 2015. Both the first Saturday (October 11) and the last day (April 11) of the regular season featured 15 games (all 30 teams).

When did the Stanley Cup playoffs start in 2014?

2014 Stanley Cup playoffs. The 2014 Stanley Cup playoffs of the National Hockey League (NHL) began on April 16, 2014 and ended June 13, 2014 when the Los Angeles Kings defeated the New York Rangers four games to one in the Stanley Cup Final. For the first time since 1973, only one Canadian team qualified for the playoffs: the Montreal Canadiens.

When did the NHL change the first round of the playoffs?

Beginning in 2013–14, the NHL officially changed the names of the first two rounds of the playoffs from Conference Quarterfinal/Semifinal to First/Second Round. The Boston Bruins won the Presidents’ Trophy for earning the league’s best record, with 117 points.