Where is pituitary fossa located?

sphenoid bone
The pituitary fossa (hypophyseal fossa) is an indentation in the roof of the body of the sphenoid bone in the middle cranial fossa.

What is the fossa pituitary gland?

The pituitary (hypophyseal) fossa or sella turcica is a midline, dural lined structure in the sphenoid bone, which houses the pituitary gland.

What is the anatomical position of pituitary gland?

The pituitary gland lies at the middle of the base of the skull and is housed within a bony structure called the sella turcica, which is behind the nose and immediately beneath the hypothalamus.

What is the normal measurement of pituitary fossa?

He found the average length measurement of the fossa to be 1.16 cm. and the average anterior and posterior depth measurements to be 0.70 and 0.78 cm., respectively. His study of the various shapes of the fossa showed the oblong and cuboidal types to prevail.

Where is the hypophyseal fossa located?

T he hypophyseal fossa is situated in the center of the base of the skull. It is located in the sella turcica of the sphenoid bone, between the two cavernous sinuses laterally, and contains the hypophysis.

What does the term fossa mean?

(Entry 1 of 2) : an anatomical pit, groove, or depression.

What region is the pituitary gland in?

Your pituitary (hypophysis) is a pea-sized endocrine gland at the base of your brain, behind the bridge of your nose and directly below your hypothalamus. It sits in an indent in the sphenoid bone called the sella turcica.

What is the location and function of the pituitary gland?

The pituitary is a pea-sized gland that is housed within a bony structure (sella turcica) at the base of the brain. The sella turcica protects the pituitary but allows very little room for expansion. The pituitary controls the function of most other endocrine glands and is therefore sometimes called the master gland.

What passes through the pituitary fossa?

Structures crossing the cavernous sinuses lateral to the pituitary gland include the carotid artery, cranial nerve III (oculomotor), cranial nerve IV (trochlear), cranial nerve VI (abducens) nerve, two branches of cranial nerve V (trigeminal nerve branch 1 and 2), the ophthalmic branch V1, and the maxillary branch V2.

Where do fossa live?

island of Madagascar
Fossas are the largest carnivores on the island of Madagascar, where they feed on a varieties of mammals, including lemurs. They typically hunt and live alone. Like most species on Madagascar, fossas are threatened by habitat loss.

How many fossa are in the body?


Bone Cranial fossa Number
sphenoid middle cranial fossa 2
temporal middle cranial fossa 2
temporal posterior cranial fossa 2
temporal posterior cranial fossa 2