Where is the Absaroka Beartooth Wilderness?

The Absaroka Beartooth Wilderness is located in south central Montana, with a small portion in northern Wyoming, just north of Yellowstone National Park. The Wilderness is home to Montana’s tallest peak, the steep rocky mass known as Granite Peak. At 12,799 feet, Granite Peak towers above the Beartooth Plateau.

How big is the Absaroka Beartooth Wilderness?

943,648 acres
The United States Congress designated the Absaroka-Beartooth Wilderness in 1978 and it now has a total of 943,648 acres.

How did the Absaroka Mountains get its name?

History. The range is named after the Absaroka Indians. The name is derived from the Hidatsa name for the Crow people; it means “children of the large-beaked bird.” (In contrast, the Crow name, Awaxaawe Báaxxioo, means “Pointed Mountains [Like Sand Castles].”)

Where are the Absaroka Mountains?

Absaroka Range, mountain segment of the northern Rocky Mountains, in northwestern Wyoming and southern Montana, U.S. Extending in a northwest-southeast direction, the range is 170 miles (270 km) long and 50 miles wide.

Where are the Beartooth Mountains?

Located just northeast of the Yellowstone National Park in south central Montana and parts of northwest Wyoming, the massive Beartooth Range is home to Granite Peak, Montana’s highest point, and sits upon the highest true elevation plateau in the US.

Is Absaroka County Wyoming real?

Speaking of Walt’s world, the novels and television series are set in the fictional Absaroka County #24 (Wyoming only has 23 counties), which is portrayed in the TV series by the town of Buffalo in Johnson County, Wyoming.

Where are the beartooths?

Are there Grizzlies in the beartooths?

From the Wyoming border near the community of Clark, north and west more than 90 miles to Livingston, the eastern face of the Beartooth Mountains offer an extensive and relatively undeveloped ecosystem favorable to grizzly bears.

How long did Absaroka sequence last?

The first order cycle being the Absaroka, the second being the Carboniferous Period, and third order being rock formations or groups which are generally 8 to 10 million years long.

What is the population of Absaroka County Wyoming?

Absaroka County

Absaroka County, Wyoming
Type County
Capital Durant
Location Wyoming
Population 10,000-30,000

Where are the Beartooth Mountains in Montana?

south central Montana

What is a Beartooth?

What is Beartooth? Beartooth is a small device that works with your existing smartphone to communicate when you have no service. With Beartooth, you can talk, text, use maps, and share location to Beartooth users within range when you have no cellular service.

Where is the Absaroka Beartooth Wilderness in Montana?

Absaroka-Beartooth Wilderness was created from existing National Forest lands in 1978 and is located in Montana and Wyoming, United States. The wilderness is partly in Gallatin, Custer and Shoshone National Forests and is composed of 944,000 acres (3,820 km2).

Where are the Beartooth Mountains located in Montana?

The Beartooth Mountains are a portion of the Absaroka-Beartooth Wilderness which is located on the Custer, Gallatin and Shoshone National Forests. This Wilderness offers a variety of wilderness related recreation experiences.

What are the trails in the Beartooth Ranger District?

There are four National Recreation Trails on the District. They are: Wild Bill Lake, Parkside, Basin Lake, and Silver Run. There are a number of camp and picnic areas on the District, providing destination type use, and also serve as popular jumping-off places for day hikes into the Wilderness.

What kind of rock is in the Beartooth Wilderness?

The wilderness encompasses two distinct mountain ranges, namely the Beartooth and Absaroka ranges. These ranges are completely distinct geologically speaking with the Absarokas composed primarily of volcanic (or extrusive) and metamorphic rock, while the Beartooths are made up almost entirely of granitic rocks.