Which local government is Badagry in Lagos?

Badagry (traditionally Gbagli) also spelled Badagri, is a coastal town and Local Government Area (LGA) in Lagos State, Nigeria….Badagry.

Badagry Àgbádárìgì
State Lagos State
LGA Badagry
• Sole Administrator Jacob Kent

What are the local government in Badagry?

It consists of four local government areas:

  • Ojo.
  • Amuwo-Odofin.
  • Ajeromi-Ifelodun.
  • Badagry.

How many LCDA are in Badagry?

Badagry: This Division has 11 constituent wards, namely; Ajara, Ajido, Apa, Awhanjigoh, Ibereko, Ikoga, Ilogbo-Araromi, Iworo Gbanko, Iya-Afin, Keta-East, and Posukoh. Ojo: The fourth LGA in Badagry Division has 11 wards.

Is Badagry a Yoruba land?

Founded in the 15th century, Badagry was said to have been named from a dual corruption of Agbedegreme (which means Agbedeh’s farm in “Ogu” language) to Agbedagari and Agbedagari to Badagry by Yoruba settlers and European slave traders respectively.

Which local government is Ojo?

Lagos State
Ojo is a Local Government Area and town in Lagos State, Nigeria. Lagos State University is located there. Ojo is located on the eastern section of the Trans–West African Coastal Highway, about 37km west of Lagos….Ojo, Lagos.

Country Nigeria
State Lagos State
Founded by Esugbemi (from Awori subgroup of the Yoruba)

Under which local government is ijanikin?

Street Data:

Street Name: Ijanikin
District: District: Ojo
Local Government Area: Ojo L.G.A
State: Lagos State
Zip Code: 102101

What is the meaning of Badagry?

Badagry (traditionally Gbagle) is a coastal town and local government area (LGA) in Lagos State, Nigeria. It is between the city of Lagos and the border with Benin at Seme.

Is Badagry part of Ogun State?

Geography and people The Ogu people are found in Badagry and in the Yewa and Ipokia region of Ogun State. They are also located in some parts of the Republic of Benin.

What local government is okota under?

Oshodi Isolo local government area is one of the twenty LGAs that make up Lagos state, South-west geopolitical zone of Nigeria. The LGA is made up of several districts which include Ago Okota, Ajao estate, Ogunoloko, Shogunle, Mafoluku, Orile-Oshodi, Okota, and Ilasamaja.

What local government is amuwo odofin?

Amuwo-Odofin is a local government area (LGA) in the Badagry Division, Lagos State, Nigeria.

Where is Badagry Local Government Area in Nigeria?

Badagry (traditionally Gbagle) is a coastal town and local government area (LGA) in Lagos State, Nigeria.

What are the 5 administrative divisions of Lagos State?

ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISIONS [IBILE] With a territorial land area of 351,861 hectares, Lagos State is made of five administrative divisions, namely: Ikeja, Badagry, Ikorodu, Lagos [Eko] and Epe. The divisions were created in May 1968 by virtue of Administrative Divisions [Establishment] Edict No. 3 of April 1968.

How is Badagry connected to Lagos and Porto Novo?

Like Lagos Island, it is on the bank of inland lagoons, a system of creeks, waterways that are navigable to Lagos and Porto Novo. The distance between the lagoon and the ocean varies along the coast, in Badagry, the distance is about a mile.

What was the population of Badagry in 2006?

As of the preliminary 2006 census results, the municipality had a population of 241,093. Serving as a lagoon and an Atlantic port, Badagry emerged as a commercial center on the West African coast between 1736 and 1851.