Who captained Liverpool in 1977?

Emlyn Hughes
1977 – Emlyn Hughes Appointed as Liverpool FC captain by Bill Shankly in 1973/74, Emlyn Hughes had been at the Club for 10 years when he became the first Reds’ skipper to lift the European Cup following a 3-1 victory against Borussia VfL 1900 Mönchengladbach in Rome.

Who are the captains of Liverpool?

Four Liverpool leaders have been in place for now for several seasons. The captain of the team is Jordan Henderson, vice-captain is James Milner, and third in line is Virgil van Dijk.

Who was Liverpool captain in 1976?

The 1976-77 season was Liverpool’s 85th season of football since they were established….

1976-77 season
General information
Manager Bob Paisley
Captain Emlyn Hughes

Who was Liverpool captain in 1978?

Emlyn Hughes Kenny Dalglish

1978-79 season
General information
Manager Bob Paisley
Captain Emlyn Hughes Kenny Dalglish

Who is Liverpool manager?

Jürgen Klopp
Liverpool F.C./Managers

What did Liverpool win in 1977?

1977 European Cup Final
Liverpool won the 1977 European Cup Final, beating Borussia Monchengladbach 3-1 on 25 May 1977 in Rome. Borussia Monchengladbach were, incidentally, the club beaten by Liverpool in their first UEFA Cup final win in 1973.

What did Liverpool win in 1975?

Football League title
Liverpool F.C. Liverpool F.C. won its ninth Football League title and second UEFA Cup, which were the first trophies won under manager Bob Paisley, in his second season as manager. Paisley saw his team clinch the league title narrowly ahead of contenders Queens Park Rangers.

Who was Liverpool manager in 1979?

Bob Paisley
1979–80 Liverpool F.C. season

1979–80 season
Manager Bob Paisley
First Division Champions
European Cup First round
FA Cup Semi-finals

Who played for Liverpool in 1979?

Back row: Joey Jones, Ray Clemence, Steve Ogrizovic, Alan Hansen, Phil Thompson. Middle row: Ronnie Moran, Graeme Souness, David Fairclough, Ray Kennedy, David Johnson, Phil Neal, Joe Fagan.

Who were Liverpool managers?

Liverpool FC Managers

  • Kenny Dalglish. 2011 – 2012. League Cup 2012.
  • Rafa Benitez. 2004 – 2010. Champions League 2005.
  • Graeme Souness. 1991 – 1994. FA Cup 1992.
  • Kenny Dalglish. 1985 – 1991. Div 1 Champions 1986, 88, 90.
  • Joe Fagan. 1983 – 1985. Div 1 Champions 1984.
  • Bob Paisley. 1974 – 1983.
  • Bill Shankly. 1959 – 1974.

Who was the manager of Liverpool in 1977?

Realising that Ian Callaghan was nearing the end of his career at Liverpool, the club also spent £352,000 on Graeme Souness from Middlesbrough . However, Callaghan’s final season started with a call up to the England squad, and would play in the match against Switzerland on 7 September 1977 under new manager Ron Greenwood.

Who are the captains of Liverpool Football Club?

Captains for Liverpool FC since 1892 Player Period Robbie Fowler 2000-2001 Sami Hyypia 2002-2003 Steven Gerrard 2003-2015 Jordan Henderson 2015-

Who was the champions of Europe in 1977?

Route to the final. Liverpool. Liverpool were the reigning European Cup champions after defeating Borussia Mönchengladbach 3–1 to win the 1977 European Cup Final. Liverpool were also the reigning English champions, having won the English league during the 1976–77 season. As reigning European Cup champions, they received a bye in the first round.

How did Liverpool win the European Cup Final?

It was to be a season of contrasts for Liverpool F.C. as they retained the European Cup, following a 1–0 victory against Club Brugge in the final at Wembley in London and winning the European Super Cup by beating Hamburg, who included Kevin Keegan in their side Seven-One on aggregate with a Six-Nil Second Leg win at Anfield .