Who has won the Profile in Courage Award?


Year Recipient
2017 Barack Obama
2018 Mitch Landrieu
2019 Nancy Pelosi
2021 Mitt Romney

What is the Profile in Courage Essay Contest?

The Profile in Courage Essay Contest challenges students to write an original and creative essay that demonstrates an understanding of political courage as described by John F. Kennedy in Profiles in Courage. The maximum word count is 1,000 with a minimum of 700, not including citations and bibliography.

When did JFK publish profiles in courage?

Profiles in Courage/Originally published

How much is the JFK scholarship?

Recognition and Awards The first-place winner receives $10,000. Second-place receives $3,000. Five finalists receive $1,000 each. Eight semifinalists receive $100 each.

Did John F Kennedy receive any awards?

Lieutenant John F. Kennedy receives one of the Navy’s highest honor for gallantry for his heroic actions as a gunboat pilot during World War II on June 12, 1944. The future president also received a Purple Heart for wounds received during battle.

Who has won the Arthur Ashe Award?

Maya Moore
Arthur Ashe Courage Award/Winners

Who Wrote profile in courage?

John F. Kennedy
Profiles in Courage/Authors

What year was Profiles in Courage published?

What kind of leadership style did John F Kennedy have?

History represents his leadership style as democratic, which means his decisions were based on the approval of the people. There are several other leadership styles that may be used to describe Kennedy such as Transformational and behavioral, but the most representative is that of a servant leader.

What is the ACF visionary scholarship?

The ACF Annual Visionary Scholarship Program offers multiple awards with awards starting at $1,000 each and a top prize of $5,000. High school Freshmen, Sophomores, Juniors, and Seniors who are US citizens or eligible non-citizens are invited to apply. Financial need is NOT considered; all income levels may apply.

What really happened to PT 109?

On August 1, 1943, a Japanese destroyer rams an American PT (patrol torpedo) boat, No. 109, slicing it in two. The destruction is so massive other American PT boats in the area assume the crew is dead. Two crewmen were, in fact, killed, but 11 survived, including Lt.

Who is the only president to receive the Purple Heart?

John Kennedy
Navy veteran John Kennedy is the only U.S. president to have received a Purple Heart, after he sustained a back injury when a Japanese destroyer sunk his patrol torpedo boat near the Solomon Islands during World War II.

Who are the past winners of the profile in Courage Award?

Past Winners. The John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award was created in 1989 by members of President Kennedy’s family to honor President John F. Kennedy and to recognize and celebrate the quality of political courage that he admired most.

When did Dan Ponder win profile in Courage Award?

In March 2000, the Georgia legislature was engaged in a bitter debate over a bill to strengthen penalties for hate crimes. The house had just voted 83-82 to shelve the bill when Dan Ponder, Jr., a Republican from a conservative district in southwestern Georgia, rose to speak.

When did Doris Voitier win the profile in Courage Award?

2007 – Doris Voitier – Voitier was honored with the 2007 John F. Kennedy Profile in Courage Award in recognition of her courageous fight to rebuild the St. Bernard Parish schools in the face of pervasive devastation and bureaucratic indifference.