Who win the Man Booker Prize in 1997?

Arundhati Roy

Year Author Country
1997 Arundhati Roy India
1998 Ian McEwan United Kingdom
1999 J. M. Coetzee South Africa
2000 Margaret Atwood Canada

Which book won the Booker Prize in 1997?

Nearly 30 years after the prize’s inception, Arundhati Roy became the first Indian winner, with her debut novel. Roy, sidetracked by other things, took 20 years to release her second.

Which major British literary prize did the novel God of Small Things won in 1997?

the Booker Prize
Arundhati Roy is the author of The God of Small Things, which won the Booker Prize in 1997. Two volumes of her non-fiction writing, The Algebra of Infinite Justice and An Ordinary Person’s Guide to Empire, were published in 2001 and 2005 respectively.

Who won the 29th Booker Prize in October 1997?

An Indian writer, Arundhati Roy, was awarded England’s prestigious Booker Prize this evening for her first novel, ”The God of Small Things,” a soaring story about a set of twins struggling to make sense of the world, themselves and their strange and difficult family in southern India.

Why did the God of Small Things won the Booker Prize?

The book explores how the small things affect people’s behavior and their lives. The book also reflects its irony against casteism, which is a major discrimination that prevails in India. It won the Booker Prize in 1997….The God of Small Things.

First edition
Author Arundhati Roy
Country India
Language English
Publisher IndiaInk, India

Who received the Man Booker Prize in 2008 for The White Tiger?

Aravind Adiga
The White Tiger is a novel by Indian author Aravind Adiga. It was published in 2008 and won the 40th Man Booker Prize the same year….The White Tiger (Adiga novel)

Author Aravind Adiga
Published 2008 Atlantic Books (UK) 2008 HarperCollins (India)
Media type Print (hardback)
Pages 318
ISBN 1-4165-6259-1

What is the value of the Booker Prize?

The Booker Prize initially awarded £5,000 to its winners. The prize money doubled in 1978 to £10,000, and today the winner receives £50,000. Each of the shortlisted authors receives £2,500 and a specially bound edition of their book.